NHS SGA has been awarded Gold Honor Council this year. Councils are given points based on the things they do over the course of the year (convention to convention). This includes parliamentary things such as keeping a constitution and setting meeting agendas, as well as activities and projects throughout the year. We have to have activities in each of the following categories: school service, community service, activities to promote school pride, recreational activities for school enjoyment, spirit activities, activities for recognition, and leadership activities. We earned the maximum points in each of these categories!

Aniyas Ruff was inducted into the Terry McCoy Leadership Hall of Fame. Aniyas was chosen by our council as the strongest leader who demonstrates teamwork, listening skills, humility, courage, passion, and enthusiasm. If you know Aniyas, you know she is an amazing young woman and a wonderful representative of NHS.

 The council is allowed to submit awards in three different categories (listed above in the honor council requirements). We submitted three, and all three did well!

The council was awarded:

  • first place in Recognition for the Black History Month Student Showcase
  • second place in Recreational Activities for last spring’s kickball tournament
  • first place in School Pride for this year’s Coming Home Week

These awards are great and all, but what I am most proud of is the behavior of our students. They did a wonderful job representing all of us. They are always the first on the dance floor and are the best at making new friends in their workshops. They can always be found mingling with other schools. During our general sessions, they were attentive and invested.

 Please congratulate all SGA members on these successes! We will be looking for next year’s members soon, so if you see someone with leadership potential, remind them to sign up for elections (and the idea of elections should never keep anyone from trying).

 SCASC Delegates

Aniyas Ruff

Derrick Jones

Yuvika Kumari

Jasmine Kinard

Kateera Boyd

Azariah Stephens

Taylore Henderson

Zamirraney Smith

2022-23 Student Government Association Members

Executive Council

Aniyas Ruff, President

Meaghan Springer, Vice President

Derrick Jones, Secretary

Yuvika Kumari, Attendance Secretary

Azariah Stephens, Historian


Class of 2023

Angel Cook, President

Danielle Harmon, Vice President

Miliani Suber, Secretary

Lapri Cromer, Treasurer


Class of 2024

Jasmine Kinard, President

Jeremy Glasgow, Vice President

Derek Gilliam, Treasurer

Iris Mancilla-Moreno, Cabinet

Kateera Boyd, Cabinet


Class of 2025

Dayanara Reyes, President

Jacqueline Hernandez Vega, Vice President

Azariah Glenn, Secretary

Savanna Jimenez, Cabinet

Gaillard Smith, Cabinet

Piper Dominick, Cabinet

Zekiah Jeter, Cabinet

Braylon Jones, Cabinet

Yurisa Rivas Figueroa, Cabinet

Kaydee Rivers, Cabinet

BreAsia Suber, Cabinet


Class of 2026

Mason Hunter, President

Brayden Hutchinson, Vice President

Zamirraney Smith, Secretary

Taylore Henderson, Treasurer

Douglas Williams, Cabinet